The Miami Heat have reached the last three NBA Finals, winning back-to-back championships in the last two seasons. That begs the question: can the Heat become the first team since the Michael Jordan-led Chicago Bulls to win three consecutive titles?

Working in Miami's favor is the fact that they still have three of the top players in the NBA on one team, with Dwyane Wade and Chris Bosh supporting the league's best player in LeBron James. James, who is squarely in the prime of his career, is proving to be more and more unstoppable in crunch time each year, something he proved in last year's NBA Finals with stretches of dominance on both ends of the floor.

Coach Erik Spoelstra is a tactical genius, and he returns nearly all of the key pieces from last year's title run, with the exception of sharpshooter Mike Miller. Not to worry, though, Heat fans, as Miller has been replaced by three-point specialist Roger Mason Jr.

With that said, the Heat haven't improved much this year while other teams in the league certainly have. The Brooklyn Nets added Kevin Garnett and Paul Pierce to an already dynamic roster, the Chicago Bulls will have Derrick Rose back from an ACL injury that kept him out last season and the Western Conference is full of powerhouse teams.

Also working against Miami is the fact that Dwyane Wade continues to age. He showed signs of ineffectiveness last season, especially during prolonged periods in the playoffs. The Heat will need him to play well to three-peat, but the level to which he can do that is a question mark coming into this year.

Will the Miami Heat three-peat?

More From Sasquatch 92.1 FM