Apparently, it's not just the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame that creates controversy over which former members of a band can be honored. The Kennedy Center has responded to a petition that sought to include ex-Eagles Don Felder, Bernie Leadon and Randy Meisner when the band receives the Kennedy Center Honors later this year.

Despite 10,301 signatures, the petition has been denied after running it by the surviving members of the band. In a statement on the petition's official page, Brandon Butler, who started the movement, forwarded a statement by Kennedy Center President Deborah Rutter.

It read, "The Kennedy Center consulted with the Eagles and through that discussion, it was determined that the four band members who 'carried the torch' -- Don Henley, the late Glenn Frey, Timothy B. Schmit, and Joe Walsh -- will be awarded the Honors. We appreciate that there will be some debate about who constitutes the Eagles. This determination does not discredit the contributions of former band members."

Butler has asked Rutter that Meisner, Felder and Leadon at least be invited to the ceremony in December "so they can feel a sense of pride and accomplishment watching the tributes from their fellow artists," he wrote. Having received an answer, he has closed the petition knowing that "the Kennedy Center heard every single one of us loud and clear."

The band were supposed to be receive the award in 2015. However, they pushed it back a year as Frey faced major surgery to correct intestinal issues. However, Frey never recovered, and passed away in January.

Eagles Albums Ranked Worst to Best

More From Sasquatch 92.1 FM